Social Anxiety Disorder

I had heard the term “social anxiety disorder” at one point or another and it just popped into my head one random afternoon and I felt compelled to research the term and see if there was something to this so-called revelation. I cannot begin to describe to you the emotions I felt as I read the key signs seen in someone with social anxiety disorder.

Social Anxiety Disorder (S.A.D.): anxiety in social situations, fear of being embarrassed, avoidance of situations where they may be the center of attention, etc etc etc. The geniuses at WebMD had plenty to say about me. And this was. ME. To a T!

After that, I sought out treatment at a local university and went through cognitive behavorial therapy (CBT) and it really helped a lot. It’s not something I think will ever be fully corrected, but when I think back to the person I was in elementary school and the person who has improved every year since, I am proud and confident that I’ll one day be more comfortable in my skin.

So, enough of the serious talk.  I want to use this blog to not only work through my social anxiety issues, but also to explore my other interests that I’ve been too afraid pursue before.  Always finding excuses.  So!  Want to know what my plans are for the next month?  Well, I’m gonna tell you anyway!

1. take a photography class – research and pick one within the next three weeks

  • post pictures online, put myself out there for criticism (which is difficult for me). Participate in a photo sharing project.

2. train for another half marathon, but this time I want to be diligent about it.

  • I have a goal of a sub-2 hour half marathon.  Last time, my goal was to “just finish” and I think that made it easy for me to slack off.  I’ll post my training schedule and update my progress on that plan!

3. begin the steps to get a job out here – It’s been 6 months since I’ve moved out here and I’ve been too afraid to apply.  I’ve definitely regressed a bit with the SAD progress I had made in therapy since moving out here to a new place full of new people.

  • Apply to at least 5 jobs this week.  Look into applying for a degree program – research a few different fields to go into.

4. work on making friends

  • Reach out to people more.  Initiate conversations.  CALL, don’t just hide behind texts.  Once a week at least, call someone and invite them out or see if they want to get together.  This will be the toughest one  for me.

Alright, blog, I’m counting on you to keep me in check!!  I think these goals are a solid start.   Hopefully not too ambitious.  Let’s DO DIS!

LEEEEROY JENKINS!

I mean..

SAButterfly 🙂

About thesabutterfly

A 20-something trying to find her way..
This entry was posted in Social Anxiety Disorder. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Social Anxiety Disorder

  1. Pingback: Social Anxiety Disorder « randomramblings40

  2. Pingback: It’s the First of the Month GOALS |

  3. SciAwakening says:

    I went through the same experience, except I was listening to a television commercial that listed every single symptom I had and then started talking about Social Anxiety Disorder. That’s when I first realized that these problems that I had struggled with my whole life were a single specific disorder. Fast forward many years and I’m taking sertraline now and doing much better. I look forward to reading more about your experiences with SAD. Thanks for posting and stay strong!

    • Thanks so much for the positive message..having these issues makes me especially appreciative of those who understand what I’m going through and all forms of encouragement are…well, encouraged. 🙂

Leave a Reply

