Just One of Them Days

I might just make all my titles after songs.

Last week I had two of the best runs of my life on Monday and Tuesday.  Then Tuesday night I caught the plague from lack of sleep, staying out late in the cold, and partying too much in Vegas.  Genius!

I ended up feeling like complete shit death.  So this weekend, when I was scheduled to run six miles, I just knew it was a bad idea and I pushed it to today (Monday). I was already a bit worried about how it would go because I’m still pretty congested but it’s the best I’ve felt in a week and I knew if I let it go too long before I ran again, it’d just be ugly.  Then, as I was getting ready to head out for my run, I closed the bathroom door on my toes.  Yes.  I did that.

I sat at the edge of the bed squeezing my big toe hoping the pain would subside, but banged up toes are persistent little fuckers boogers (oh, and I had plenty of those too, THANKS VEGAS!).  Anyway, so I head off on my run and figured after the first few seconds I wouldn’t even notice the pain.  I was right about that.  BUT THEN, my right calf started feeling really tight about half a mile into my run.  No big deal, just 5.5 more miles to go.  Sarcastic smile  I think I stopped a gajillion times (just go with it) to try and fix that, and then I just couldn’t breathe.  And by 3.5 miles I wished I had brought a box of tissues on the run with me cause I had way too much going on in the nasal area.  You’re welcome for sparing you the deets.

So, I rested a lot, but I completed the six miles.  And I didn’t let myself walk it, even if I did come to a complete stop to catch my breath a few million times.  I’m happy I did it, but not without my body  and mind putting up a fight first I guess.

It’s funny how much more mental strength is necessary than physical strength when it comes to things like running.  I just could not get my head in the game today.  I kept noticing my arms getting tired and my legs feeling tight and then my core felt heavy.  It was all in my head, but I guess it was just one of those days.

On the bright sideSun, I stopped at the grocery store on the way home and bought some chocolate milk for some muscle repair.  SCORE.  I’ve been meaning to buy it for weeks but haven’t yet.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll be motivated by the thought of a glass of chocolate milk waiting at the end of my run.  Like a delicious pot of gold.  Rainbow

Now, off to ice my toes!

XOXO, SAButterfly

About thesabutterfly

A 20-something trying to find her way..
This entry was posted in Half Marathon Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just One of Them Days

  1. nerdthatruns says:

    awesome job on pushing through and getting the run done and over with! It happens, just one of them days like you said. happy running!

  2. Pingback: Raindrops on Toes-es |

Leave a Reply

